Leadership

Executive leadership team 

Our leadership team is dedicated to advancing children's health in our community and is driven by a passion to put children first. 

Elias Neujahr MHA MBAElias Neujahr, MHA, MBA 
President

Read more about our president.  

Email: Elias.Neujahr@vcuhealth.org 

 


HeadshotDrBarkin

Shari Barkin, MD, MSHS
Physician-in-chief, CHoR
Chair, Department of Pediatrics

Read more about Dr. Barkin.

Email: Shari.Barkin@vcuhealth.org

 


David A. Lanning, MD, PhDDavid A. Lanning, MD, PhD 
Associate chief medical officer
Professor, Division of General Surgery

Email: david.lanning@vcuhealth.org 

 


C.D. Anthony Herndon, MD

C.D. Anthony Herndon, MD
Surgeon-in-chief
Professor and chief, Division of Urology

Email: claude.herndon@vcuhealth.org 

 


Jeniece S. Roane, MS RN NE-BCJeniece S. Roane, MS, RN, NE-BC 
Vice president of operations

Email: jeniece.roane@vcuhealth.org 

 


Donna Johnson, MS, MBA, RN, NE-BC, CPHQDonna Johnson, PhD, MBA, MS, RN, NE-BC, CPHQ 
Associate chief nursing officer

Meet Donna Johnson, associate chief nursing officer

Email: donna.d.johnson@vcuhealth.org 

 


Sharon W. Darby, DNP, RN, NHA, FACHESharon W. Darby, DNP, RN, NHA, FACHE 
Associate vice president of operations
Associate chief nursing officer
Nursing home administrator
Children's Services Brook Road

Email: sharon.darby@vcuhealth.org 

 


Wei Zhao, MD, PhD, FAAAAI, FACAAIWei Zhao, MD, PhD, FAAAAI, FACAAI 
Vice chair of clinical operations
Pediatric ambulatory medical director
Professor and chief, Division of Allergy and Immunology

Email: wei.zhao@vcuhealth.org 

 


Henry Rozycki, MDHenry Rozycki, MD 
Vice chair of research
Professor, Division of Neonatal Medicine

Email: henry.rozycki@vcuhealth.org 

 


Jose Munoz, MDJose Munoz, MD
Medical director, safety and quality
Professor, Division of Infectious Disease

Email: jose.munoz@vcuhealth.org 

 


Gary Southard Jr., MBAGary Southard Jr., MBA 
Senior administrator
Department of Pediatrics

Email: gary.southard@vcuhealth.org 

 


 

Dory WalczakDory Walczak MS, RN, NE-BC, CPHQ, LSSGB
Director of nursing for acute care pediatrics, critical care and child life

 

Email: dory.walczak@vcuhealth.org

 


Jaime LovelaceJaime Lovelace, MSN, BS, RN, PMH-BC
Director of nursing for the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Email: Jaime.Lovelace@vcuhealth.org