Virginia Safety Seat Laws
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that all children should remain rear-facing until 2-years-old or the maximum rear-facing height or weight limit of the safety seat is reached.
Child safety seat law(Code of Virginia Article 13- Section 46.2)
- As of July 1, 2007, any child through age 7 will be required to be properly secured in a child restraint device in all seating positions.
- Rear-facing child restraint devices must be used in the back seat of a vehicle. If a vehicle does not have a back seat, the restraint device may be placed in the front passenger seat. This is only if the vehicle does not have a passenger side airbag or the airbag has been deactivated.
- This law applies to anyone who provides transportation for a child in a vehicle manufactured after Jan. 1, 1968.
- Public transportation (taxis, buses), regulation school buses, executive sedans, limousines and farm vehicles are exempt.
Passenger safety belt law(Code of Virginia Article 12- Section 46.2)
- Children between 8 and 17 years of age must be belted correctly in a vehicle safety belt if the vehicle was manufactured after Jan. 1, 1968.
- The safety belt law is primary enforcement: Summons the driver and each passenger 18 years of age and older occupying the front seat who is not wearing a safety belt.
- Exceptions: mail carriers, newspaper delivery persons, taxi drivers and passengers, certain law enforcement officers, waste collectors, meter readers and persons with physical or medical disability waivers.
Pickup truck law(Code of Virginia Section 46.2-1094)
- No persons under 16 years of age shall be transported in the rear cargo area of a pickup truck. Some exemptions exist for certain parades and farming operations.
Financial assistance is available for residents who cannot afford a safety seat. Please call the Virginia Department of Health at 1-800-732-8333 for more information.
Children ages 14 and under should be properly restrained in the back seat.